So much quiet!

 Our house seems so quiet! The kids left for home around 9 this morning. They should be home or be very close by now…takes 9 hours. Our concern is the weather reports from north of us…SNOW! Sure do hope they don’t have bad roads to drive on.

We had a wonderful time being together for the long weekend. On Thanksgiving, just about the time we sat down to eat, Craig called…put him on speaker phone, so we could all hear and say hello to him. Sure wish they could have been here, too.  Our meal on Thanksgiving was wonderful!!…turkey, cornbread dressing, gravy, mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, green beans, cranberries, green salad, fruit salad, pickles, cornbread muffins, pumpkin pie, and apple crisp. Oh, there was also a rice ‘dressing’. It all tasted so good and was so satisfying to serve things grown on the farm. We had so much food that there was enough left for the next day. So that meant I didn’t have to cook for Friday. That did not hurt my feelings at all. Wink

Another deer was brought to us on Thanksgiving Day. It’s bow season and this one had been taken with a crossbow. We were happy to have more meat. It’s such a blessing to have it given to us.
On Saturday we had venison roast along with potatoes, green beans,corn, and salad. Darryl had smoked some venison, so he cooked a smoked roast. Oh, was it yummy!! The non-smoked one was yummy, too. Both were so moist and tender.

It was noisy around here at times. Rather hard not to be with 8 adults and 8 children. Although, of the children, I suppose technically, 3 of them pretty much are adults. We played games…dominoes –Mexican train. That caused some of the noise, as one person checked online for rules and found some quite different from how we’ve played for years. And there were some LOUD objections!!! Once things calmed down, we did play the new (to us) way. Personally I liked it, but…there were others who didn’t. It really doesn’t matter to me, it’s just the fun of playing together. I played Scrabble with my grandson, and he beat me…can you believe that? I can, he’s one very smart boy!!

Oh, the granddaughter’s cat stayed home. That was a relief for the cat, I’m sure. And it made things easier here..just don’t think my 2 cats and dog would be real happy with another critter in their house. Oh, the dog would be fine, but the cats would be another story. Smile

I think I’ll quit for this time. Have to wonder if that sweet niece of mine ever reads this anymore. Wish she’d write more on her space.

2 Responses

  1. Sounds like a wonderful time. I\’ve never heard of Mexican train. I LOVE to play Scrabble. Seems I win 99% of the time 🙂  Glad the cat stayed home. I bet the cat was too. They can fend pretty much for themselves. A gift of venison is a blessing. The hunters really caught their limit here this year. Have a nice night and see ya tomorrow.

  2. It was a wonderful time! The good thing about Mexican train is it doesn\’t require a lot of counting…unless you\’re left holding a bunch of dominoes. 🙂 My husband and I play Scrabble fairly often…our scores are pretty close most of the time. Oh, yes, I\’m glad the cat stayed home. It would have been quite an unhappy time for her. Venison is our main meat. So we\’re always thankful to have some given to us, in addition to ones my son and husband have gotten. Have a nice night!

Leave a Reply

