This ‘n that

Today was a dreary and chilly day. I don’t think it got above 50 all day. Now I realize some of you would enjoy 50, but, trust me, this was a cold 50. Have any of you noticed how the same temperature can feel quite comfortable some days, and on others it’s chilly? I haven’t figured that out.

We saw our first hummingbird on Saturday. I was ready with the nectar…had used a ratio of 4 cups water and 1 cup sugar (white), which I boiled per Rambling On. She takes good care of those little birds. I had put the nectar out on Friday, and was I ever glad.  Last summer we didn’t see a lot of hummers for some reason. As they return to the same area summer after summer, it makes me wonder what happened to them. Hopefully we’ll see more this summer. I so enjoy watching them.

Yesterday, Anne and I went treasure hunting again. It gives us a day out which we both thoroughly enjoy. Plus looking through those thrift shops and antique shops is a lot of fun. You just never know what you might find. I did come home with a treasure. An item I had looked at on at least 3 of our other trips. I had decided if it was still there this time, it was coming home with me. It’s a blue glass butter dish. I didn’t really need it, but I know it will make me smile to use it. Here’s a picture of it.

 

 
 

9 Responses

  1. I guess it depends on humidity and which way the wind direction.Your butter dish is so pretty! Great find!! I forgot to get the nector out!I best do that tomorrow! Thanks for the reminder.

  2. That dish is beautiful connie – great find! Good eye.

  3. I think it is about humidity. It is always humid here so 50 feels pretty bad. There is a small window of a comfort zone in a sub tropical rainforest and that is where I live. I liked the butter dish.

  4. Hi connie………thanks for dropping by……….come and see what i baked for the first time in my oven……………………and i so love hat butter dish…………….Its beautiful and ofcourse i totally understand why you wanted to have it even though u didnt need it……………….blue my fav color………….

  5. I can see why you wanted this butter dish, beautiful blue, with a design….Ann

  6. Wow what a pretty dish. I buy real butter now and had to go searching for a butter dish. I\’m not even sure if it\’s a real butter dish or an old fashioned lid to something, but it works for me! (Good thing I didn\’t see that dish first!) ha!

  7. I\’ve been using this butter dish daily. It brings joy to use pretty things. Most of my life I\’ve used what cost the least and did the job, regardless of what it looked like. Now I\’m still watching the cost, but going for things that make my heart sing. Thank you for your comments on the dish.

  8. What a beautiful dish. I think it is great that you use it every day.

  9. If it makes you smile,it,s always worth it; I love it.

Leave a Reply

