Mountain Cake

My youngest son has been asking for some recipes. I decided this would be the easiest way to do it. This one has been in my mom’s family for a long time. It is what we always had with strawberries as I was growing up. I much prefer it to the traditional shortcake.

                                    Mountain Cake

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup shortening (I use oil)
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 tsp. salt     

Mix sugar and shortening. Add eggs, vanilla, and milk. Add flour mixture and mix well. Pour into greased 8 x 8 pan. Bake at 350 for 30 to 35 minutes. Or until tests done.

My recipe is just the list of ingredients, as was also mom’s. I’m not exactly sure how long it bakes…comparable cakes in my cookbook are the 30 – 35 minutes.  Anyway, enjoy!!

3 Responses

  1. It sound suit me fine that I\’m not good cook …..but this one just easier for me thank you!I try to make this then I \’ll ring you to come over and have a cup coffee together lol!

  2. That sounds so good really. I like simple recipes and this looks like one my sons would enjoy when they come home. 🙂

  3. Simple recipes are my favorites…thanx

Leave a Reply

