Visitors

 

IMG_4786 This is a male Rose-Breasted Grosbeak. These birds stop by and see us each fall and spring. Before moving to KY, I had never seen one. We look forward to them coming. One spring they spent a month with us. Last year was only 2 or 3 days. They’ve been here right at a week so far this time.

IMG_4834

This is the female Rose-Breasted Grosbeak. No rose on her…she’s still beautiful.

Today I saw 5 males at one time. I suspect there are just as many females…I’ve only seen 4 at one time. 

 

Two years ago I did a tabblo after seeing them You can find it here. At that time I had only seen the males. The females showed up a few days later. I really enjoy seeing them. We can watch them from our living room, while sitting in our cushy chairs. 🙂

10 Responses

  1. The Grosbeaks are beautiful. I visted your tabblo page. You have taken some awesome pictures.

  2. Wow great shots! I really need to get a REAL camera. I feel like I have one from the flintstones, with some animal inside carving the pic on stone! I had taken a bunch this weekend, all blurry. UGH

  3. Good afternoon…Yep…I roam about to my Spaces Blog Bud\’s when I can…I am so glad that I visited today. I had a male Rose-Breasted Grosbeak at my feeders this morning and did not know what kind of bird it was. Not to mention a whole bunch of females too….Have a wonderful week…Greghttp://blogquest.spaces.live.com

  4. I had my very first Red Breasted Grosbeak a couple of days ago. He\’s wasn\’t supposed to be here, but it IS within his migratory routes..right on the edge. I had to actually look him up as I didn\’t know who he was.

  5. Great pictures. I snapped a Gray Breasted Martin yesterday but they are as common here as pennies. This is one of the very few places you will ever see them.

  6. Thank you so much for the sweet comment for me and her. We feel wore out. But she got most of her first dose of meds in tonight.

  7. Fantastic pictures of the birds. I don\’t think I\’ve ever seen a grosbeak like that, very pretty. Sorry I haven\’t been by lately. I\’m glad you got the bluebirds out of the stove and outside. I bet the cat and dog wanted to catch it for ya. Have a great weekend coming up!

  8. More bird pics. I never took many bird pics but everyone is doing it so I had to give it a try will be coming out in my next blog New Camera. Your female rosebreasted grosbeak looks like one I was trying to identify. Maybe I got the wrong name on mind. But it did\’t have the thick beak like most grobeaks. We get evening grosbeaks here. They just showed up.. Beautiful photos.

  9. I have the worst luck with bird pictures.

  10. I should have a camera in hand here at the window, so I could capture birds and the occasional rabbit. Your pics are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

