Hard to believe…

…it’s September already. This summer has gone by so quickly. I’m not ready for it to be gone. I didn’t do nearly as much canning as last summer, which didn’t hurt my feelings at all. Still canned peaches, tomato juice, pickles, green beans, and did some pickled beets. I hope to have some plums to can before I’m totally done. I’ll probably also make up a big pot of chili and can that. It is so handy to be able to open up a jar of chili, when I have no idea what to fix for us.

In July, our family dealt with the sadness of losing my mom. Perhaps I should say started dealing with the sadness…you don’t just deal with something like that. I’m not sure the true reality has ‘hit’ me yet. I keep thinking she will be calling, or I’ll think about calling her, then realize…   Time, hopefully, will make it easier.

My husband and I celebrated our 45th anniversary in July. It doesn’t seem possible that much time has passed.

My husband just finished screening in our front porch. It is so nice to be able to sit out there and not be eaten up by mosquitoes. We’ve eaten out there the last 4 nights and really enjoyed no bugs.IMG_7872

Lots more has gone on around here this summer. Hopefully, I’ll get back into the ‘swing’ of blogging and share some of it. I’ve semi kept up with all of you. Some days I didn’t even turn my computer on,. Then I spend way too much time on Facebook. I’m working on tapering that off somewhat. I have family and friends on there, so it’s not easy to just not check it out.

It’s late here, so I gotta go.

4 Responses

  1. It seems summer never really took off with the storms and all and now Fall is approaching.My sympathies of your loss. Before my Mom passed she told me to sit in the sunshine and close my eyes and think of a memory of her and me and she will be there she said. Well it\’s been 15 years now and I visit her in my daydreams on the sunny deck chair. I made 8 quarts of salsa today and I smell like salsa…lol. Weather was ruff on gardens I think. Have a nice weekend and by the way that is a very nice porch you have. He did a great job!

  2. Summer was really odd this year. Lots of rain and cooler than normal temperatures. Not a good growing season. Your front porch looks great and as Toodie said, close your eyes as you are sitting there and for a moment you will feel the presence of your own special angel.

  3. I am so glad to see that you blogged and congratulations on 45 years together. (((HUGS)))Summer was short this year and full of cool days where I am. Sometimes it was more like Fall.

  4. Hello Connie so nice to see what you have been up to. So sorry to hear about your mom. I love your screen room , you get so much more use of it. We put up a screen tent every summer but only have mosquitoes bad for a couple weeks. I just went to facebook a few weeks ago because much of my family is there. So wonderful to stay up on what they are doing as they all live so far away and I don\’t have a phone to keep in touch. But I have also connected with many old school friends I haven\’t seen for over 30 years. It is really great to drop right back into a comfortable feeling with them. Take care Carrie

Leave a Reply

