We’ve actually…

..seen the sun today…for short periods of time. We have rain forecast for all this next week. Plus we had it for most of last week. Since we were beginning to really need rain we’re thankful for what we’ve had. Just would really appreciate some sunny days in between.

This summer I ended up with a doozy of a case of poison ivy. I was pulling weeds from under the deck steps, not paying attention to what they were. Just reaching under and pulling them out. I happened to notice what looked suspiciously like poison ivy on my pile. By actually breaking the stem I really got the oil on me.  I should have gone looking for Jewelweed, but figured just washing with soap would take care of it. Didn’t quite work that way. And as long as you have the oil on you it can be spread to other parts of your body. Needless to say I had a miserable few weeks. It was extremely itchy and the worst spots seeped, so I wore a sock top on my one arm, used gauze on the top of the other one. While doing some research on what to do, I learned that Jewelweed is the best thing to use. If you crush the leaves and rub on you after exposure there’s a good chance you won’t break out. It’s also good to help the healing process. We ordered some Jewelweed soap for me to use….that was really soothing. Then I learned how to make Jewelweed salve. Between the soap and salve I began getting some relief.  

IMG_7417

In this photo it is actually getting better. My arm is still swollen. Oh, I didn’t mention that….my arm was swollen and my face, even though there weren’t many spots on my face.  I’m happy to say that it’s basically gone. I have some spots that still look red like any healing sore.

As I’ve been writing this our sunshine has disappeared and we’re getting rain. My poor roses don’t need anymore. They have gotten mildew with all the dampness we’ve had. I spray them, then the rain washes it off. The next roses I buy will hopefully say they are mildew resistant.

I’ve appreciated the comments all of you left on my last blog and in my guestbook. I don’t receive notifications, so there were some I had missed. Have to tell you I sat here teary eyed as I read….think I’ve missed all of you. After Carole (my next state neighbor) mentioned about people leaving Spaces for Facebook and missing them. It got me to thinking….even though I didn’t leave Spaces for Facebook, the end result has pretty much been the same. So I’m going to do my best to remedy that.

Have a good day!

10 Responses

  1. Hi Connie, What a weed to pull, poison ivy. I am glad it is beginning to get better for you.

  2. I am delighted to see you blogging Connie. I sure did miss you. As you saw I checked in every now and again to see what you might have done.You know that we had one full week of unrelenting rain, then another coming up plus some more beyond that. 17-18 days of straight rain. :-(I had a case of poison ivy like that once..my legs and feet. I had to work anyway of course..misery, I guess!!!

  3. Nothing like nature to take care of the ailments nature gave you. Thank God we don\’t have poisin ivy here as I would be getting into all the time. Great to know about that jewelweed, there are lots of people that could probably use. Well I am not guilty of spending time at facebook now also. Thought I never would but found most my family is on there and can finely keep up with whats happening in their live since they live so far away and I have no phone. Also can\’t believe all the old friends from highschool I have connected with. But my friends here are so special and I love having a place to share my creativity. Hugs Carrie

  4. Thank you for visiting my space and leaving your nice comments.I wondering what happened to you, Sorry to hear you have had problems with poison ivy I think all lover gardener had an experience it was just shocking things to have that makes me nightmare.we all are made mistaken aren\’t we? hopefully never happent again.It seems toward end? Take care my friend,Michiko

  5. sure do hope you are continuing to get better from the ivy!I see from comments that several bloggers may beed a keyboard skin too..so tomorrow I will put in the info as to where I got mine BBB approved.

  6. So glad your poison is leaving…. thank you for your visits and comments. I seem to be doing ok on my tmobile stick. So maybe I can visit more. Kassey and I have watched a lotta rain fall lately too, but sunny today.

  7. Honey I\’m gonna have mushrooms growing on me and the cat if this keeps up. 🙂

  8. I missed this post! Alerts jist ain\’t work\’in!I hope you are all better by now. I bet youwill know what weed to leave alone eh?

  9. How are you? I hope you are enjoying back to your gardening? I do very much these day after all the rainyit\’s easy to weeding and pull out of few dead plants.(a couple of Azaleas).Thank you for visits 🙂

  10. Next time, you\’ll have to start out a little earlier to join us for breakfast. I\’ll fry up extra bacon..how\’s that?

Leave a Reply

