It’s been raining….

…nearly all day. We are on the Western edge of the storm that is dumping lots of snow on the Carolinas, Virginia, Washington,DC, etc. I suspect the grandchildren are hoping it’ll snow, at least enough for them to go sledding. I’m just glad to have reached a stage in my life that I don’t have to get out in it, if I don’t want to. In the past I have driven to work in weather that no one should have been out in. Never enjoyed it, but it was what had to be done.

You ought to see my candlesticks made of Cedar. My brother-in-law in Texas, makes fancy candlesticks from Mesquite and sells them. He suggested about 3 years ago that if Garry took some cedar to him, he’d make some for us. Only real work took precedence and the cedar pieces sat in the workshop. Our last visit in October, Roger pulled them out, set up the machine and showed Garry how to do it. I’m sure there was a lot more to it than that, but….what do I know about such things!?!

Nov. 9 004 This is a picture Garry took of them. I think they’re gorgeous. 

IMG_9348    IMG_9346 I took these two to try and show them a little closer. Oh, I switched the candles around, in case anyone notices. 🙂

I’m going to quit for this time. My left wrist is really hurting and typing doesn’t seem to do it any favors. I’ve been having problems with several of my joints for the past 4 weeks. Started in my ankles, then moved to my wrists and hands. The ankles seem fine now. My hands haven’t been hurting much, just my wrists, plus my knees have been bothering me some. It’s really strange how it moves around. Feels better in the mornings, then by late afternoon it’s hurting again. I’m sure it will eventually quit, but in the meantime I’m moving a bit slower and more carefully than normal.

Have a good evening, night, morning or whatever time of day it may be where you are. Here it’s about bedtime.

 

 

 

10 Responses

  1. Hmm…better read your last blog and see of one of those fellas Maxine mentioned isn\’t visiting you..Arthur maybe?Those were Summer pics I put in tonight. Please visit my Flickr page for more birdies. I have them in what they call a set. Look on the left side of the front of the Flickr page and see "Birds, insects" and click on that. The Flickr page can be found on the right hand side of my Profile page where it says Internet Activities. There is a little list of Blog, Flickr and Twitter. Just click on Flickr. 🙂 and enjoy the birdies.

  2. I think Rambling is right. You have been describing my arthritis pain here.The candle holders are beautiful.

  3. I am afraid to tell you it is cause from arthritis that I have had for a little time.You will think only cold weather time gave you pain but I do noticed that very hot weather time affected in my lower back…maybe an old agelol! I love the candole holder that made from the wood, it warmth feeling to look at them.

  4. A childhood neighbor use to say about the snow that would hit New England on a regular basis, "God put it there and He can take it away." Somehow I just liked her attitude.

  5. The candle sticks are so beautiful. I know the machine in which it can be made. I wait in awe to see videos of the east coast to see their winter. Sorry to hear of the pain. I hope it gets better real quick. Have a great weekend my friend.

  6. Toodie, I had a feeling you would know of such a machine. My brother-in-law has a Legacy machine. My husband just recently found a Craftsman Router Crafter on Ebay, which should be fine for his needs. Of course, he needs to build a workshop…that\’s in the works. It\’s always something. My pain is better today. I didn\’t want to claim Arthur as my visitor, as he\’s most definitely not welcome here.

  7. Merry Christmas and Wonderful New Year to you and your loved ones.

  8. Merry Christmas sweet person.

  9. Hi Connie Hope you had a wonderful Christmas. Those candle holders are just beautifull. Wishing you a blessed New Year. Hugs Carrie

  10. The candlesticks are beautiful…. I have arthritis so can relate to the moving pain. Usually it is my back, hips and knees. Just shifts around and sometimes it hurts everywhere. Lately it has not been very bad but I better knock on wood after saying that….Happy New Year and hope the grandkids got thier snow.

Leave a Reply

