First Day!

Hard to believe it’s actually the first day of 2010. How does time go so fast? And where does it go? I remember just the other day there was all that hype about Y2K, and now we’re 10 years beyond that. And I’m sure it was just a couple years ago when I graduated from High School….well, maybe a little longer than that. But surely not much…EXCEPT two of my grandchildren have graduated from HS with a 3rd one to graduate this year. Again, have to wonder, where does the time go?!?

Today has been a beautiful sunny day with temps in the high 20’s. The best thing about today was that I have felt better than I have in weeks. Actually felt like doing things…cleaned some, made a large pot of chili, refilled bird feeders, plus several other things. Even fixed fried chicken with all the trimmings for supper tonight. All the cooking was done on the wood stove. There is just something so satisfying about cooking a meal on it. The chili will be shared with our son and his family tomorrow evening.

Our daughter, son-in-law, and 17 year old grandson spent a couple days with us this week. They had been in Lexington for a special family weekend…Church related… and decided since they were that close they should come see us. Must admit, I agreed whole heartedly! We had thought we would go over to Lexington, then started having transmission problems with the van, so it’s a good thing they came here. They live in Wisconsin, and we don’t see them nearly often enough. When we used to live in the large town to the west of Beth Marie, we were about 3 hours from them, now it’s between 9 and 10 hours from here to there.

Our house was full the time Anna, Jeff, and Cory were here, as Darryl, Anne, and the 4 kids were also here most of the time. We ate together and played together…so much fun! We played a Domino game called Mexican Train….I didn’t win.  Seems I had the most points while the goal is to have the least points. Anyway, we had a good time that ended all too soon. Our house was so quiet after everyone was gone. Had a couple grandkids come back in the afternoon, so that helped.

Darryl’s cow, Tillie had a little heifer calf yesterday. More photos of the baby.I haven’t braved the walk down the hill to see her yet. Well, it’s really the walk back up that gets to me. 🙂 I’m sure she’ll still be there after it warms up a little, then I’ll walk down to see her. As far as I know she doesn’t have a name yet. The photos are on Darryl’s blog.

Hopefully I’ll feel more like keeping up with this. That pain has been terrible and I don’t believe I realized how much it has been affecting me until today. My fingers are stiff tonight, although, it doesn’t seem to be bothering me while typing. AND, I’m not limping tonight. So I have hope that I’ll get through this ‘spell’ and be back to normal for a while. Even a day or two is welcome at this point.

Catch you all later!

7 Responses

  1. Time does go by quickly. We are young and we turn around and we are old. That is life.I had to laugh when I read large town to the west of me. GC is smaller than my little town although I will admit they at least have a County Market.I am so glad you are feeling better!

  2. Beth, the town I was referring to is BN, we lived there for 10 years before moving here. That\’s funny, I always thought of GC as being larger than your town….guess neither one is very large.

  3. I wish you and Beth lived next door. I would be in tall cotton if the three of us were all in a row.Hey Connie, my back is t- totally killing me these past 4 days. We\’ll limp together. Kidding of course. I don\’t want either of us to be limping around, for sure. 🙂 I will have to go see the baby..glad you gave us the link. Oh it\’s just the best of times when the family or any member of it is with us, isn\’t it? I have the oldest till this afternoon and that concludes two solid weeks of a full house. Miss Catt is thrilled that you followed her and she will do the same. A pleasure to see your new blog. Keep feeling better Connie. (((HUGS)))

  4. Yes, BN is a nice sized town. My daughter went to Illinois State U there. Actually my little town is the county seat and I think at last count we had about 6 or 7 hundred more people than GC. LOL

  5. Oh, how wonderful to have a full house over the holidays.

  6. Carole, somehow I think we would have fun! Even limping together. :))Beth, my son used to teach at ISU when we all lived in BN. Fact is, he still teaches there via online classes. I had almost forgotten your little town is the county seat. Duckie, you are so right…it was wonderful to have a full house!!

  7. Looks like you have some SPAM right below me.

Leave a Reply

