Rain, beef, and trains

We have been having lots of rain. I think we’ve had over 4 inches since this time last week. There’s lots of that green mossy color on everything. Some sunshine would be very welcome. I actually saw the sun this morning…for an instant, then the clouds moved in. Bringing with them a mixture of rain, snow and sleet. Thankfully it didn’t last long. Snow is forecast for later this week…Danny said, it would be more than our last snow of around 2 inches. Danny is our resident weather reporter…he’s the only one on the farm who has TV reception and watches local weather.

Our son decided that it was time to butcher the steer that he had grown from a calf. He and his wife shared with us and with Danny. So last week was spent cutting up and packaging meat. The guys did all the cutting. And I did a good portion of the packaging. It just costs so much to take it to a processing plant, plus this way we know how the meat is processed, And, we know for sure we have what was grown here on the farm. All was cut off the bone with a nice bit going into burger. We all enjoy some roasts, but ground seems to be the preferred choice. We feel so blessed to have meat in the freezer. I also cooked some of the bones and made stock…14 qts…, which will be great for soups.

This past week Garry and I committed ourselves to an adventure in March. We have been planning on going to Oregon to visit our youngest son and his family in March. Just hadn’t decided on the mode of transportation. Garry wasn’t really wanting to drive that far…36 hours of driving time. Flying isn’t something we either one care to do anymore. The security circus just doesn’t appeal to us. We considered the bus, but…well, I’m sure you can understand how comfy that wouldn’t be. Then last fall we visited the train museum in Bowling Green and began thinking a train trip sounded like fun. We finally decided to go for it and take the train. We will be taking the bus from Bowling Green to Indianapolis. There we board a train to Chicago. At Chicago, we board the Empire Builder which will take us to Portland. It takes a very northern route, at times not far from the Canadian border. Here’s a map showing the route: 

 BlobServer 

The last couple days we’ve been searching for pictures of our route, just to have a idea of what to expect. This is an area neither one of us have ever traveled in. In the process we discovered we’ll be going over several trestle bridges, even a drawbridge as we cross into Oregon. Garry doesn’t much care for long bridges. Told him he could read a book and ignore them. We’ll be going through the Flathead tunnel, 7.1 miles, the 2nd longest railroad tunnel in the United States. The longest one, 7.79 miles, is the Cascade tunnel, along the route to Seattle.

Thought I’d share a few pictures I found online.

Empire Builder

Empire-Builder-at-Two-Medic

MPass-19-page-top-photo

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Top left: Amtrak Empire Builder in Montana,USA –freefoto.com                   

Top right: in Cascade Mountains…attributed to 2 people – Jim Loomis and Dean Johnson….I don’t know who took it.                                                           Bottom left:  crossing Two Medicine River Bridge near Glacier National Park in Montana. Amtrak Photo.                                                                               

Bottom right: Marias Pass ..photography by Dale Jones.

So as you can see, we have quite an adventure in store. I’m really looking forward to going. I’m also looking forward to seeing those 3 granddaughters. Garry hasn’t seen the youngest two and I haven’t seen the baby. Just wish they didn’t live so far from us. It’ll be wonderful to see their parents, as well. To put it mildly.

Well, it’s way past my bedtime, so I better be closing this. I have a cat (Snickers) on my shoulder, so will have to disturb her. It has become her favorite place to be when I’m at the computer. It’s really rather cozy.

Till next time…..

When I published the pictures shifted. Still same order, just not side by side. Irritating how things don’t stay when transferring with Live Writer. Oh well…such is life.

6 Responses

  1. I hope the sun shines soon for you. I am so happy you guys figured a way to visit your son. The train sounds exciting. Riding on a train is on my bucket list. How great to have a freezer full of meat. Good for you and home grown too! Have a great day tomorrow.

  2. OH Connie, I would love to have a similar adventure. A train trip…how wonderful. Loved the pictures but love the coming adventure for you two even more. These aren\’t just idle words..I am sincerely enthused for you guys. Sort of like the post card, "with I was there". :-)You know we have the algae here. YUK. We had close to 3 inches of rain on Sunday alone. Man alive..we have rock slides everywhere one after the other. Not only the I-40 one which had another just 2 days ago!!! but other places in East Tennessee. and certainly middle Tennessee. Including several in the Smokies now. It\’s all this rain Poor rocks can\’t keep their grip any longer. ((HUGS))

  3. This sounds wonderful. When I was in high school my sister and I traveled by train to New Jersey to visit our sister. It was an exciting trip for 2 girls in high school. You will have the most fun and the sights you will see.

  4. Oh yes!! Oh yes!! Definately the train. (Now I sound like Rainman LOL)Have you and your family been farmers all your life. All of you are what this country is looking at in a protective way.

  5. I loved the train trip I thought more safer then Air plain although you can enjoying to see the beautiful scenery. Someway I\’m an old fashion old lady…as you says Black berry for just fruit that I agree with you:-)Would be nice to exchange our weather that we have hot summer season with no rains.The pictures are beautiful!Have a nice day,Michiko

  6. I came by t see if you blogged again and I was enchanted with the pictures in here all over again. I would love to have a train trip. You got 6 inches of snow..I really feared you guys would get a foot of it!

Leave a Reply

