Our Big Adventure begins

When I woke up this morning, one of my first thoughts was..one more night in my comfy bed. For some reason when we’re close to leaving on a trip I mark the time by how many more nights in my own bed. Tomorrow is the day we’re leaving on our trip to Oregon. As, I’m sure some of you remember we’re traveling by train. The first leg of our journey will be by bus. We leave Bowling Green 7:40 pm tomorrow heading to Indianapolis. We’re to arrive in Indy around 2 am, then get on the train to Chicago about 6:30 am. In Chicago we change trains to get on the Empire Builder which will take us all the way to Portland, OR. Tomorrow night I don’t anticipate we’ll get a lot of sleep. We’re pretty well packed, just have a few last minute things to do. So tomorrow should be a fairly relaxed day.

The daffodils are blooming…at least part of them are. I was so afraid I would miss them. It looks like there should still be plenty blooming when we return. They seem to retain their bloom for quite a while and look like they have a few days before blooming. I enjoy the spot of sunshine they put around the yard.    IMG_9856I took a few photos that leave a bit to be desired, but I’m sure it gives you the idea. 🙂

The birds are still busy eating. I was hoping they’d slow down a bit more than they have with sunshine and warmer temperatures. We have so many birds around here. I had hoped to share a video with you, but I haven’t figured out how to insert mine on here. I will figure it out for the future…think I need to find an online service that will give me the needed code.  I want to show you why my bird seed has disappeared so fast, so will work on that when I return.  Here’s a couple bird pictures.    IMG_9851 This little guy rarely sits still long enough for me to take a picture. He’s probably the loudest scolder when I’m refilling the feeders. Just sits up in the tree and complains…at least it sounds like complaining to me.

After I’ve finished filling the feeders usually the first one to return is the Tufted Titmouse. Sometimes I have barely gotten in the door and he’s back starting to eat. They will even come to one feeder while I’m filling the other.IMG_9831

I’m trying to adjust to new glasses. Garry and I decided we needed to have our eyes checked as it had been 6 years. It’s not that we were having any problems with seeing, the problem was our glasses wearing out. One of the ear pieces broke on mine…was able to be soldered. Then Garry’s broke…could only be taped.  My first new pair was just not right. I tried them several days before giving up and saying ‘I just can’t wear these’. He rechecked my eyes and came up with a different correction. I decided to go for the no line progressive lens…if I can’t adjust they’ll change them and refund the difference. Anyway this time the correction feels right, it’s just they are so different after being used to the lined bifocals. I love them at the computer…has made it so I can sit back in my chair and see the screen easily. Now if I can just adjust to the rest. I’ve had them since Wednesday. It’s becoming easier, but I’m not there yet. Hopefully I’ll be adjusted to them by the time we return home.

I think it’s bedtime. Need to get some sleep tonight, as tomorrow night is questionable. I’m hoping to have some pictures to share when I return. Will try to check in a few times while gone. Otherwise I’ll catch up when back.

9 Responses

  1. Have an adventure Connie. It sounds so fun. I\’d love someday to ride a train. Keep hubby\’s face in a magazine while you travel over bridges or tressals I guess they are called…lol. Give those glasses time as progressives are wonderful. Be safe and be happy! Happy trails to you!

  2. Have a great trip. You get the prize for the 1st daffadils for me to see. Your birds are great…Be safeHugs Carrie

  3. I thought you are gone to the trip? as you know I had a short brakes from blog land (Computer)It is a good your reading grasses is right:-) Have a safe trip for you.Michiko

  4. I hope that you are having a wonderful time!

  5. Happy Easter to you and your family, I thought you are still away?

  6. Hi Connie. Miss you but glad you are having a wonderful time.

  7. Snickers said "you\’ll pay, Missy! Disturbing ME!"

  8. i hope you having a wonderful time and a lots of pictures for us….Although your daffodils are waiting for you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

