Summer time…

Thought I’d see if I could figure out how to write a blog post again. It’s been way too long. 

Our summer has been hot and dry. We have exceeded our average of 32 days per year of 90 degrees or above. I think we’ve over 60 days. Thankfully it does cool down somewhat at night. Our garden and the flowers have pretty much dried up from it being so hot, as well as, dry. We did receive rain this week…approximately 4 inches in about 30 hours, so that will help considerable.

We went to Wisconsin the first part of June for a grandson’s (daughter’s son) graduation from High School. He is the 3rd of our grandchildren to graduate. I’m not sure who gave these children permission to grow up.

Our 11 year old granddaughter spent 6 weeks with us this summer. I’m not always sure if she comes to see us, or to play with her 4 cousins who live here. Either way, there’s usually enough time for all of us to enjoy her. This year she had the additional fun of being able to ride the resident 13 year olds horse. Her first time to ride…she thoroughly enjoyed it. Her daddy and cousin (19 year old granddaughter) came to spend 5 days with us, then take her home. Our house seemed rather on the empty side after she was gone.

Garry and I celebrated our 46th anniversary in July. We took two days and just ran around…went to antique shops, thrift stores, ate out…just enjoyed doing nothing in particular except being together. I look at that number and realize we’re almost to 50 years together. It seems like it wasn’t all that long ago that we were married. Now we have 4 grown children and 11 grandchildren.

The Humming Birds have sure been busy emptying the feeder. They have been going through a quart of nectar in about a day…if I fill it in the morning it’s needs refilled by noon the next day.                      Sept 11_hummer (32)

This picture was taken in 2007, and shows exactly what it looks like this year. Since we’ve screened in the front porch there is a screen between me and them…and, of course, the camera wants to focus on the screen, so I haven’t taken any pictures. They’re like a swarm, so much fun to watch. If it wasn’t so early I’d think they were ‘tanking up’ to migrate. The last two summers we’ve had very few hummers, so are enjoying them.

This is enough for this time. I’ll try to not let it go so long in between. Even considering migrating to Blogspot like some of you have done.

Take care wherever you are.

2 Responses

  1. Well hello Connie so nice to see you blog again. I haven\’t had much time lately to spend here. Busy outside and other project. One of my best memories as a child was the summer I spent with my grandparents. Our hummers have slowed down considerably at the feeder. There were so many flowers they prefered. Maybe I will be seeing you a blogspot. Hugs Carrie

  2. Hi Connie, glad to see you back and thanks for visiting my place. Many of us like it on blogspot. Love to watch the hummers , but I don\’t have a feeder for them. They did come to my petunias, a thrill.

Leave a Reply

